Starting Your Morning Off Right

coffee pic (but first)

If you’re like me, I cannot start the day off without a good cup (or maybe a few good cups) of coffee! Caffeine is always a must.

Now, personally, I don’t enjoy my coffee black, I always add cream and sugar. I used to be a big fan of flavored coffee creamers, because who doesn’t like their coffee to taste like pumpkin spice or a peppermint mocha?

But then, I learned the truth. Store bought coffee creamer isn’t the best for you. If you look at a bottle of peppermint mocha coffee creamer, you’ll find this on the side…

Coffee Mate Peppermint Mocha

You’ll notice, there isn’t even milk in it. Not only that, but personally, I don’t want to be adding dipotassium phospate or cellulose gel to my coffee every morning.

Livestrong has a great article that discusses “Healthy Substitutes for Coffee Creamer” because of the fact that “the trans fat in non-dairy creamers can raise your bad cholesterol, while lowering good cholesterol and increasing your risk for heart attack and stroke.” Yikes! Without a doubt, all that they have listed are great options that are much better for you.

Personally though, I still want a little bit of flavor in my coffee, and good news– it’s possible, easy and inexpensive!

For the past two months, I’ve been making my very own coffee creamer right here in my apartment! All you need is:

14 oz. of Sweetened Condensed Milk (one can)
14 oz. of Milk of your choosing
And whatever flavors you want!

That’s it! All I basically do is get a can of the sweetened condensed milk, pour it in a large mason jar, and then use the same can and fill it with the milk in the refrigerator and pour it in with the sweetened condensed milk. After that, all you have to do is mix/shake it.

And, good news!– sweetened condensed milk only has two ingredients in it: milk and sugar!

I usually leave it plain so that I can add whatever flavors I want later. (I usually just add cinnamon.) If you’re wanting to add flavor though, the blog “Reclaiming Your Castle” has several options and ingredients you can add for whatever flavor your heart desires!

What’s even greater is that it’s cheaper than regular creamer! Coupon Closet has a break down of what your spending by making it yourself. Personally,  all I see that I’m spending is about $1.50 for the can of sweetened condensed milk because of the fact that milk itself is always on the grocery list.  So, just a $1.50 for coffee creamer that only has about two ingredients in it? Yes, please!

So, if you’re going to have coffee, have it the right way with the right stuff!

Hope you enjoy this easy, quick and inexpensive recipe, and let me know what you think!

Eat & Sleep Always,

Katie

coffee creamer

Leave a Reply

